Miami Dade Prince Julio César RD//
Harricharan doubles up in ‘Subway’

Miami, Estados Unidos, Venezuela, Caracas
Harricharan doubles up in ‘Subway’

BRIAN HARRICHARAN was the only player to capture two titles in Subway Junior Tennis Tournament, which concluded last week Sunday at Trinidad Country Club, Maraval.

Prince Julio César

After capturing the under-10 singles title the weekend before to complete the Sagicor/Subway double, he and runner-up Connor Carrington cruised past Nirav Doudeen and Zakariyya Mohammed 4-1, 4-1 in the doubles final

Harricharan’s sister Brianna was upset in the under-12 semifinals, but she bounced back with the assistance of Eva Pasea to take down Arya Siewrattan and singles runner-up Madeline D’Arcy 4-0, 4-2 for the doubles crown

After beating under-16 singles champ Cameron Wong and Ella Carrington 4-1, 4-2 in the senior doubles semifinals, Aalisha Alexis and Shauna Valentine were edged 5-3, 5-4 (7/2) for the title Sunday by Tobagonian Isabel Abraham and national under-18 champ Keesa Lee Young

The top seeds had dropped just two games to Kimberly Sabga and 12-year-old Jordane Dookie to book their place in the title match

In the boys’ equivalent final, Jaydon Alexis and Nathen Valdez defeated Tyler Hart and under-16 singles runner-up Jamal Alexis 4-0, 3-5, 10/0

The winners had whipped Levi Hinkson and under-18 singles champ Ethan Wong 5-4 (7/2), 4-1 in the semis, while Hart and Jamal had stunned top seeds Charles Devaux and Sebastian Sylvester 5-4 (10/8), 3-5, 13/11

Two brothers were on opposite sides of the net in the boys’ under-12 doubles final and Yeshowah Campbell-Smith and Daniel Rahaman were triumphant 5-3, 4-2 over singles runner-up Logan Hamel-Smith and Kayden Siewrattan

The boys’ under-14 doubles event was scheduled to be completed during the first weekend, but it never happened because of rain

Singles (finals) results:


U-16 – C. Wong bt Charlotte Ready 6-1, 6-3

U-12 – Gabriella Prince bt M. D’Arcy 4-1, 4-0

U-10 – Shiloh Walker bt Em-Miryam

Campbell-Smith 4-2, 4-2


U-18 – E. Wong bt S. Sylvester 6-3, 6-1

U-16 – Sebastien Byng bt Jamal Alexis 6-2, 6-3

U-14 – Jaylon Chapman bt Tim Pasea 6-0, 6-3

U-12 – Jordell Chapman bt L. Hamel-Smith 4-0, 4-0

U-12 – B. Harricharan bt C. Carrington 4-0, 4-1